10th Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is the 2nd time this has happened... my 2016 Civic will not start after being idle for a couple of days. We jump started it the first time, (after being idle for one week), car started, and no problems.

Second time -- car idle for 1 week, and again, it will not start. Lights and radio come one, but will not crank. We do hear a clicking sound (maybe indicating that the starter is fine).

Could something be draining the battery ? the alarm system maybe ? The car is less than one year old, and there was nothing added to the car, except the original equipment (which included the KAAR Alarm system).

Bad battery ?

HELP..

Thanks

·
Registered
39 Posts
The Civic has a lot of features that are running while the car is sitting untouched. I have no experience with the KAAR alarm system, but that could be a culprit. The keyless access system is also constantly "listening" for your keyless fob, also. Previously, I had an issues with the car dying over night, but that was because of user error. I installed aftermarket parts in the wrong fuse circuit, and it didn't shut off when I had the car off. Apparently, if the car battery has been drained severely too often, the plates inside of it will accumulate a coating that reduces battery performance. The clicking sound is an indication that the starter is kicking into the flywheel, but doesn't have enough power to turn the engine. It is definitely an issue regarding the battery being drained. If the car starts fine within a few hours or over night, there is definitely something slowly draining the battery over the course of a few days.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
THANK-YOU.