10th Honda Civic Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Those of you that have driven or purchased a new civic with the honda sensing, do you feel that it is worth the extra cost or is it just a gimmick?

·
Registered
1,287 Posts
Those of you that have driven or purchased a new civic with the honda sensing, do you feel that it is worth the extra cost or is it just a gimmick?
Most reviews of the sensing have been positive so far. It really comes down to personal preference. Some people like the extra piece of mind knowing the car is looking out for them. Others don't feel the need or don't like the nannies interfering with their driving.

I personally wouldn't get it. I'm a good driver and am very observant on the road at all times of other drivers. My mother would love it, she's getting up there in age and could use the extra nannies to help watch out for her.

So really, it's a great system, just comes down to whether you want/need it enough to spend the money on it.

·
Premium Member
100 Posts
For me, I would turn off all functions I could but the one function I would absolutely love is the auto cruise control. I have used it on a long trip in a Jeep Grand Cherokee and one of the brand new S-Class sedans and that is amazing. I mean wow, that is a truly killer feature for someone doing freeway driving and if you've never tried it do so before buying if you are on the edge. I plan on testing it out myself in person on the Civic and deciding then on if I need it or not.

Also, most insurance agency's will offer you a discount if you have collision avoidance tech on your car. If it saves $9 a month for those keeping their car a long time then it is free after 10 years or so. Higher resale I would expect too.

·
Registered
21 Posts