10th Honda Civic Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys i'm a new owner of a Honda Civic Hatchback Sport in Canada. I was just wondering with the Turbo engine should i wait for it to warm up before i drive it? Also when i'm done driving should i wait a few minutes before turning the car off? Thanks.

·
Premium Member
414 Posts
hello! welcome to the forum!
while starting the engine theres no need to wait too long before driving only 30 sec is plenty!
and for whats it is of when its time to turn the car off...it only depends if youve just been boosting a lot before turning it off....(should wait 1 minute or so....)
if not youre good!

·
Registered
167 Posts
Do you guys recommend getting a catch can? I saw that floating around a page on facebook people were saying its a must. Im new to turbo cars as well so Im just trying to make this car last.

·
Registered
382 Posts
catch can's have been making a bigger scene since the direct injection engines have hit the market. when i had my '11 Sonata, many owners, especially the turbo ones added a catch can and they would accumulate oil in it.

i never installed one on my car...drove it from new to 64K miles in 2.5 years. i would periodically check the oil level and it was always fine. so, if i had blow by, it was so minimal that it wouldnt' show on the dipstick between oil changes.

the biggest thing you have to remember to do is....dispose of the oil - CORRECTLY.

others will have their own opinion. if you feel more comfortable with one, then, by all means, add one.

·
Registered
167 Posts
catch can's have been making a bigger scene since the direct injection engines have hit the market. when i had my '11 Sonata, many owners, especially the turbo ones added a catch can and they would accumulate oil in it.